Welcome to Big Tobacco’s Pay Day

SATURDAY MESSAGE: Good Morning Twitteristas! Since it’s Saturday, I’ll keep it short. Members of Congress just went on a week-long recess. That means most of these lawmakers will be in their home town areas, holding town hall meetings, attending public civic events, visiting businesses, and conducting downtown tours. This is your PRIME opportunity to tell your member of Congress to STOP the BigTobacco bailout in the highway bill. It’s a money grab by Big Tobacco, a tax hike on small business, and a job killer.

YOUR MESSAGE: If you’re up to Tweeting and Facebooking, it’s time to talk to every member of Congress (your member, members listed below, other members) and tell them:

NO new taxes. NO job killing regs. NO special favors. Tell Congress: STOP the BigTobacco bailout in the highway bill. 

Here’s an excerpt from a blog item posted on The Hill newspaper talking about the people whose staff members are ALREADY WORKING on the details of a final Federal highway bill. We must mount pressure on them to drop the Senate provision reclassifying small smoke shops as “manufacturing facilities.” Letting Big Tobacco pull that kind of move on a highway bill is disgusting and wrong. And if Big Tobacco succeeds, we’ll all be forced back into filling their pockets with our hard-earned money, paying for their crappy, tasteless product.

The people closest to the highway bill right now (from The Hill newspaper):

Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) is one of 14 senators who were appointed to the conference committee this week. She will be joined by Sens. Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), David Vitter (R-La.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.) and John Hoeven (R-N.D.).The House has appointed 33 lawmakers to the highway bill conference committee, including Republican Reps. John Mica (Fla.), Don Young (Alaska), John Duncan (Tenn.), Bill Shuster (Pa.), Shelley Moore Capito (W-Va.), Rick Crawford (Ark.), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), Larry Bucshon (Ind.), Richard Hanna (N.Y.), Steve Southerland (Fla.), James Lankford (Okla.), Reid Ribble (Wis.), Fred Upton (Mich.), Ed Whitfield (Ky.), Doc Hastings (Wash.), Rob Bishop (Utah), Ralph Hall (Texas), Chip Cravaack (Minn.), Dave Camp (Mich.) and Patrick Tiberi (Ohio).

Those GOP members of the transportation conference committee will be joined by 13 House Democrats: Reps. Nick Rahall (W.Va.), Peter DeFazio (Ore.), Jerry Costello (Ill.), Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.), Corrine Brown (Fla.), Elijah Cummings (Md.), Leonard Boswell (Iowa), Tim Bishop (N.Y.), Henry Waxman (Calif.), Ed Markey (Mass.), Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas), Earl Blumenauer (Ore.) and Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D.C.).

***End of excerpt.***
So have a good weekend loyal Twitterista and good luck finding out where your members of Congress stand on the BigTobacco bailout. I’ll see you online. – GR
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: